The NSW Government has made the decision to close the state border with Victoria effective 12:01am Wednesday 8 July.

The decision was made after consultation with the NSW Chief Health Officer and discussions with Prime Minister Morrison and Victorian Premier Dan Andrews.

Premier Gladys Berejiklian stressed that the border closure is a temporary measure.

Any NSW resident returning from Victoria will be required to go into 14 days of self-isolation. This measure will be backed by heavy penalties and fines.

There will be provisions put in place for residents of border regions such as Albury-Wodonga, and special conditions will be in place for freight operations and other critical services.

See the full media release below.

Receive Weekly Updates via Email

We will send you an email with all the latest articles each week.